Skip to content Go to sidebar Go to footer
"The Gulf countries want to participate in the global conversation," said Prince Faisal Ben Farhan al-Saud, Saudi Minister of Foreign Affairs. AHMED YOSRI/REUTERS
ANALYSIS – In the Gulf as in Asia and Africa, the countries of the South want to increase their influence.
Source: These middle powers that refuse to align themselves with the United States or China

For several years, the American withdrawal and the retraction of the Western world have been pushing the diplomats of the South who want to have more influence in international affairs. In the United Arab Emirates, as elsewhere in the Gulf, in the Middle East, in Asia or in Africa, this tendency to change its alliances to rebalance them has been exacerbated since the Russian invasion of February 24. "With the Russian-Ukrainian war but also in the China-United States conflict, we have chosen balance", summed up in one sentence Anwar Gargash, the “Kissinger of the Middle East”, diplomatic adviser Emirati President Mohammed Ben Zayed (MBZ), at the World Policy Conference (WPC) organized by Ifri in Abu Dhabi. That is to say, concretely, a distancing from the Chinese and Russian policies of the White House.

The relationship between Washington and Abu Dhabi has crumbled since Barack Obama, the one who decided on America's Asian pivot, but also the one who abandoned the Egyptian ally Mubarak, gave up enforcing his red line on chemical weapons in Syria in 2013, committed his country in 2015 to the Iranian nuclear agreement, the JCPOA, unfit to prevent Iranian bomb. The United Arab Emirates are not the only ones in the region to want to emancipate themselves from the powerful American ally, encouraged by the drop in tensions in the Gulf, the Abraham agreements with Israel and the truce in Yemen. Ties have also weakened between America and Saudi Arabia since the assassination of journalist Jamal Khashoggi. “The United States has both a lighter and more confused approach in the region. The signals they send are ambiguous. We don't know what they want. This confusion pushes the region to act and take sovereign decisions to protect its interests., explains Abdulaziz Othman Sager, president of the Saudi think-tank Gulf Research Center, at the Abu Dhabi conference.

Less America, but more China. "In just under five years, the United Arab Emirates has accelerated its rapprochement with Xi Jinping's China and has become the first Gulf state to find itself at the heart of the rivalry between Beijing and Washington", notes the specialist Jean-Loup Samaan in a note for Ifri. In July 2018, the Chinese President's visit to Abu Dhabi was an opportunity to establish a "global strategic partnership" between the two countries and give substance to the Asian turn of the Emirates. Of course, the United Arab Emirates, which has placed itself in the American fold since its creation in 1971, is still bound by defense agreements with the United States. But Abu Dhabi wants to avoid the bipolarization imposed by the Sino-American rivalry in the Persian Gulf. “China will not replace the United States, but the Emirates do not want to be caught up in the conflict between Washington and Beijing. For an average country like us, it is impossible to choose categorically between these two giants. We don't want to be the grass under the elephant.", says a senior Emirati official.

End of bloc alliances and global globalization?

Could this be the end of bloc alliances and global globalization, rejected by the partisans of a new non-alignment? As Prince Faysal Bin Farhan al-Saud, Saudi Minister of Foreign Affairs, summed up at the World Policy Conference, “countries in the region want to play a bigger role and participate in the global conversation”, choosing their alliances according to their interests. Quit contradicting them. They are not the only ones.

India does the same when it allies itself with the United States while refusing to condemn Russian aggression in Ukraine. Similarly Turkey, which plays both in the NATO camp and in that of Vladimir Putin. “There is no more global alignment”, summarizes Mayankote Kelath Narayanan, former adviser to the Indian Prime Minister. His country, like Indonesia and Southeast Asia, defends an approach "multi-alignment" in foreign policy and refuses to choose between the United States and China. How he hesitates to choose between Ukraine and Russia. “I know the conflict in Ukraine occupies strategic thinking in Europe, but the potential conflict in the Indo-Pacific is more important”, Judge Mayankote Kelath Narayanan. This is also the case in the Middle East, in the states that are trying to take their destiny into their own hands between the various foreign influences. “These countries are not anti-Russian. Many of them look at China with admiration. They don't want to align themselves with Westerners.", summarizes the Egyptian senator Mona Makram-Ebeid.

Complacency vis-à-vis Vladimir Putin's Russia is even clearer in African countries, which are struggling, like Moscow, to change the international order and end Western domination. The Russian invasion of Ukraine even indirectly boosted anti-European and anti-American feelings in some countries. On the platform of the WPC, African officials complain that they can no longer buy weapons from Westerners since the start of the war in Ukraine, which cannibalizes stocks. “If 10% of aid to Ukraine had been devoted to helping the Sahel, we could have resolved the issue of instability”, judges one of them. Seen from Africa, the terrorism infusing the Sahel and the west of the continent is more worrying than the war between Ukraine and Russia. It also feeds resentment against the West and particularly against France, the main driver of the military intervention against Gaddafi's Libya in 2011. “Africans are primarily concerned about their economic situation and the rise of terrorism. Contrary to what Europeans think, the expansion of terrorism is not due to the incompetence of local governments, but to the destabilization of Libya in 2011”, he continues. In these new forums, Europe seems to be the soft underbelly of history. And the West, a great power in retreat.

Leave comments

CJFAI © 2023. All Rights Reserved.

Aller au contenu Aller à la barre latérale Atteindre le pied de page
«Les pays du Golfe veulent participer à la conversation globale», souligne le prince Faisal Ben Farhan al-Saud, ministre des Affaires étrangères saoudien. AHMED YOSRI/REUTERS
ANALYSE – Dans le Golfe comme en Asie et en Afrique, les pays du Sud veulent accroître leur influence.
Source: Ces puissances moyennes qui refusent de s’aligner sur les États-Unis ou la Chine

Depuis plusieurs années, le repli américain et la rétraction du monde occidental poussent les diplomaties du Sud qui veulent peser davantage dans les affaires internationales. Aux Émirats arabes unis, comme ailleurs dans le Golfe, au Moyen-Orient, en Asie ou en Afrique, cette tendance à changer ses alliances pour les rééquilibrer a été exacerbée depuis l’invasion russe du 24 février. «Avec la guerre russo-ukrainienne mais aussi dans le conflit Chine-États-Unis, nous avons ont choisi l’équilibre», résume d’une phrase Anwar Gargash, le «Kissinger du Moyen-Orient», conseiller diplomatique du président émirati Mohammed Ben Zayed (MBZ), à la World Policy Conference (WPC) organisée par l’Ifri à Abu Dhabi. C’est-à-dire, concrètement, une prise de distance à l’égard des politiques chinoises et russes de la Maison-Blanche.

La relation entre Washington et Abu Dhabi s’effrite depuis Barack Obama, celui qui a décidé le pivot asiatique de l’Amérique, mais aussi celui qui a abandonné l’allié égyptien Moubarak, renoncé à faire respecter sa ligne rouge sur les armes chimiques en Syrie en 2013, engagé son pays en 2015 dans l’accord sur le nucléaire iranien, le JCPOA, inapte à empêcher la bombe iranienne. Les Émirats arabes unis ne sont pas les seuls dans la région à vouloir s’émanciper du puissant allié américain, encouragés par la baisse des tensions dans le Golfe, les accords d’Abraham avec Israël et la trêve au Yémen. Les liens se sont aussi distendus entre l’Amérique et l’Arabie saoudite depuis l’assassinat du journaliste Jamal Khashoggi. «Les États-Unis ont une approche à la fois plus légère et plus confuse dans la région. Les signaux qu’ils envoient sont ambigus. On ne sait pas ce qu’ils veulent. Cette confusion pousse la région à agir et à prendre des décisions souveraines pour protéger ses intérêts», explique Abdulaziz Othman Sager, président du think-tank saoudien Gulf Research Center, à la conférence d’Abu Dhabi.

Moins d’Amérique, mais plus de Chine. «En un peu moins de cinq ans, les Émirats arabes unis ont accéléré leur rapprochement avec la Chine de Xi Jinping et sont devenus le premier État du Golfe à se retrouver au cœur de la rivalité entre Pékin et Washington», note le spécialiste Jean-Loup Samaan dans une note pour l’Ifri. En juillet 2018, la visite du président chinois à Abu Dhabi fut l’occasion d’établir un «partenariat stratégique global» entre les deux pays et de donner du corps au virage asiatique des Émirats. Bien sûr, les Émirats arabes unis, qui se sont placés dans le giron américain depuis leur création en 1971, sont toujours liés par des accords de défense avec les États-Unis. Mais Abu Dhabi veut éviter la bipolarisation imposée par la rivalité sino-américaine dans le golfe Persique. «La Chine ne remplacera pas les États-Unis, mais les Émirats ne veulent pas être pris dans le conflit entre Washington et Pékin. Pour un pays moyen comme nous, il est impossible de choisir de manière catégorique entre ces deux géants. Nous ne voulons pas être l’herbe sous l’éléphant», explique un haut responsable émirati.

Fin des alliances de bloc et de la mondialisation globale?

Serait-ce la fin des alliances de bloc et de la mondialisation globale, rejetées par les partisans d’un nouveau non-alignement? Comme le résume le prince Faysal Ben Farhan al-Saoud, ministre des Affaires étrangères saoudien, à la World Policy Conference, «les pays de la région veulent jouer un rôle plus important et participer à la conversation globale», en choisissant leurs alliances en fonction de leurs intérêts. Quitte à les mettre en contradiction. Ils ne sont pas les seuls.

L’Inde fait la même chose quand elle s’allie aux États-Unis tout en refusant de condamner l’agression russe en Ukraine. De même la Turquie, qui joue à la fois dans le camp de l’Otan et dans celui de Vladimir Poutine. «Il n’y a plus d’alignement global», résume Mayankote Kelath Narayanan, ancien conseiller du premier ministre indien. Son pays, comme l’Indonésie et le Sud-Est asiatique, défend une approche «multi-alignement» en politique étrangère et refuse de choisir entre les États-Unis et la Chine. Comme il hésite à choisir entre l’Ukraine et la Russie. «Je sais que le conflit en Ukraine occupe la pensée stratégique en Europe, mais le conflit potentiel en Indo-Pacifique est plus important», juge Mayankote Kelath Narayanan. C’est aussi le cas au Moyen-Orient, dans les États qui tentent de reprendre leur destin en main entre les différentes influences étrangères. «Ces pays ne sont pas antirusses. Beaucoup d’entre eux regardent la Chine avec admiration. Ils ne veulent pas s’aligner sur les Occidentaux», résume la sénatrice égyptienne Mona Makram-Ebeid.

La complaisance vis-à-vis de la Russie de Vladimir Poutine est encore plus nette dans les pays africains, qui luttent, comme Moscou, pour changer l’ordre international et mettre fin à la domination occidentale. L’invasion russe de l’Ukraine a même indirectement dopé les sentiments antieuropéen et antiaméricain dans certains pays. À la tribune de la WPC, des responsables africains se plaignent de ne plus pouvoir acheter d’armes aux Occidentaux depuis le début de la guerre en Ukraine, qui cannibalise les stocks. «Si 10 % de l’aide à l’Ukraine avait été consacrée à aider le Sahel, on aurait pu régler la question de l’instabilité», juge l’un d’eux. Vu d’Afrique, le terrorisme qui infuse au Sahel et à l’ouest du continent inquiète davantage que la guerre entre l’Ukraine et la Russie. Il nourrit aussi le ressentiment contre l’Occident et particulièrement contre la France, principal moteur de l’intervention militaire contre la Libye de Kadhafi en 2011. «Les Africains sont avant tout préoccupés par leur situation économique et par la montée du terrorisme. Contrairement à ce que pensent les Européens, l’expansion du terrorisme n’est pas due à l’incompétence des gouvernements locaux, mais à la déstabilisation de la Libye en 2011», poursuit-il. Dans ces nouvelles tribunes, l’Europe semble être le ventre mou de l’histoire. Et l’Occident, une grande puissance en recul.

Laisser un commentaire

C.J.F.A.I © 2023. All Rights Reserved.